Leeds Kirkgate Market

Leeds Kirkgate Market first opened its doors in 1822 as an open air market. Fifty years later the first of the covered segments were added, these extensions and refurbishments continued throughout the nineties. Thanks to these additions Leeds Kirkgate Market is now the largest covered market in Europe and hosts 800 stalls inside and out. As well as hosting the foundation of Marks & Spencer’s. Most of all Leeds market to me has been a familiar place since I was a child, and one I was consistently intrigued by. As a child the market always seemed an intense place, loud and fast paced. I remember being overwhelmed by the contrast of smells and curious of the variety of different characters and cultures. Which formed the stereotypes I have today. I used to enjoyed observing the array of people and found each one interesting in their own different ways which is something I tried to communicate in my images.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Leave a Reply

