Travel Photography

This week I was briefed on as assignment focusing on ‘Travel photography’. The assignment requires me to take a bus or train to a location I have never been before and take a photo that tells the viewer about the place. Secondly I must take a photo of something or someone I found there followed by a statement describing me reasons for what I’v shot and why.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

I decided to tackle this assignment whilst visiting a friend who lives in Manchester. Although I had visited the city on a few occasions previously, I had no sense of my location or previous memories of my surroundings. My friend lives in Oldham a short travel from the city centre, so I caught a train to further explore the city.

Above is the image I chose as my establishing shot. To be truthful, I found it difficult to capture an establishing shot of my location. With next to no knowledge of the city and what significance my surroundings played apart from their appearance. It was hard to find subjects that would visually communicate where I was. After many failures I decided on this image purely because of the visual clues contained in the architecture and what they told the viewer. My intentions were to compose The Wheel of Manchester an iconic landmark in the city, with other significant architecture in the area such as The Arndale Centre, Manchester’s largest indoor shopping centre. In the hope that it would give the viewer a greater chance of interpreting my location.

 Whilst taking a break from the bustle of the city and eating some lunch, I noticed a lot of attraction toward a certain building. At first glance I though it was a church regardless of its attractive exterior. People continued to come and go gazing as I ate which left me intrigued as to what was inside. Manchester Cathedral was extremely ornate upon entering and provided a perfect location for me to shoot an image of something I’d found. The variety of colours and lighting worked well at helping me create visually interesting images alongside the pleasing aesthetics of the architecture and interior.

Leave a Reply

